A deeper insight into the pottering of Mr. George, Mr. Scholes, and Mr. Robson.

Hip Without Frontiers…Feat. New Music Video

Hipsters.

If you’ve resided anywhere near Brooklyn in the last 10 years, you’ve encountered them, spoken with them, maybe you’ve even become one of them.

The flannel garbed, Elvis costello glasses wearing, trend-topping, gentrifying, kings and queens of irony have long been seeking increasingly trendy shelter in Williamsburg, Brooklyn by infiltrating once low income housing areas.

Replacing colt 45 and gangsta rap with cans of Blue Ribbon (hipster drink of choice) and folksy post – Simon and Garfunkel music…by 2008 when I arrived in the City…Williamsburg had flourished into a safe haven for all those with a deep appreciation for appreciating before it became mainstream.

I wouldn’t say that I had anything against hipsters…they were always somewhere else. Sometimes wandering into the island of Manhattan but never too long…just long enough to be ironic.

Then this summer I came home to the Jersey Shore

The Real Jersey Shore

Well it had been a few weeks of hanging with friends at home when I began to realize a familiar pattern was being donned by the locals, and the smell of Blue Ribbon was in the air, and…could it be? IT WAS….

SIMON AND GARFUNKEL wafted through the doors of what were clearly…HIPSTER BARS!

Well in true hipster fashion I must say that I wrote this song about hipsters BEFORE I knew anything about hipsters being here at home. But no matter the time or place I hope you enjoy this new song and new music video I put together with my brother David and 2 of my oldest friends Jordan Whilden and Cheryl Mowczan

Dedicated to all hipsters everywhere:

Well to make a long story short…they’re here. Hipsters have immigrated to the Jersey Shore and have no intention of leaving their new ironic haven.

To be honest they may have been here all along and I was just too blind to see it. Too ignorant…or in denial of my home becoming Hipsterville 2.0.

But I guess compared to the alternative perception of NJ…

The Hipsters Can Stay As Long as They Want

P.S. New Album Coming Soon!

One response

  1. Dee

    hahaha. well said Mr. Scholes. well said. they are a fine alternative to “the situation” and others of the sort.

    September 1, 2012 at 9:38 AM

Leave a Reply

