A deeper insight into the pottering of Mr. George, Mr. Scholes, and Mr. Robson.

The Summer That Got Me To Go To A Concert (I mean 3)

I’ve never been a big concert-goer. I’m not really sure why.

My inner-scrooge not wanting to pay jacked up ticket prices? Or maybe the fear that I may actually have to touch the thousand other germ-ridden fans that would engulf my person at said concert?

 Freebird!

No, no. Despite these possible character flaws, I suspect the reason is my general lack of enthusiasm over the live acts which have played in my area.

This summer however…could be different.

I currently plan to go to not 1…not 2…but yes…

3 LIVE PERFORMANCES!

 I Know, Crazy Ain’t It?

The first one I decided upon was the Stone Temple Pilots coming to the Stone Pony in Asbury Park. The lead singer Scott Weiland is easily on my top 5 list of greatest rock vocalists of all time and is one of the more prominent influences on my own music. Plus their last album was pretty awesome…

The second artist I found that was playing this summer was Marley Marl and Kool Moe Dee. I put them in that order because as influential as Kool Moe Dee has been in the world of MCing (the first MC to perform at the Grammys), Marley Marl has touched so many facets of Hip Hop…and so many of them are good.

If his founding of the Juice Crew (including Big Daddy Kane, Biz Markie, and Kool G Rap) wasn’t enough…his involvement and friendship with Rakim, and his production of some amazing tracks such as LL Cool J’s “Mama Said Knock You Out” should solidify why I’m definitely trying to make this show at Queensbridge Park.

Finally, Rakim is playing a show in Central Park in August. I already went on at length about Eric B. and Rakim in my last post so instead of talking about that again and posting another Eric B and Rakim tune…I’m gonna post a tune that was sampled not only by Eric B. but plenty of other DJ’s of the time. Needless to say I’m looking forward to this performance with great anticipation.

Well that’s it concerning the live performances.

Check back soon for news on my next two EP’s and info about the play I’m directing in November!

Be Righteous,

~ G.S.R.V

2 responses

  1. cathy kenyon

    No Fountains of Wayne at the Stone Pony? (July 23 I think)

    July 1, 2011 at 8:07 AM

    • While I really enjoy Fountains on record, I’m not quite as interested in their live show…however I think I will be going to see them as well possibly

      July 2, 2011 at 7:02 PM

Leave a Reply

