A deeper insight into the pottering of Mr. George, Mr. Scholes, and Mr. Robson.

Mr. Shabazz and the Avacado that got him there…

Okay, so Malcolm X never mentions avocados in his autobiography. But what he does mention is well worth the read if you have yet to do so. It was shocking to me that I had known so little about an individual who has had such a direct influence on national thought.

It’s equally amazing that, just as El Hajj Malik El Shabazz predicts at the end of the book, many of us have only been taught about his most volatile separatist notions. This in spite of the fact that by the end of his life Malcolm X was completely in favor of interracial cohabitation if done sincerely without condescension. Though we have come a long way since, it’s sad that we have yet to succeed in eradicating the racial tension that has been psychologically ingrained into so much of America.

Even more than the iconic hatred of the KKK or dirty looks when I walk down 125th street holding hands with my dark skinned girlfriend, it’s the ignorant “non-racists” that seem to be preventing what men like Mr. Shabazz and Dr. King sought to achieve. The people who following an off-color joke quickly state, “it’s ok, some of my best friends are black” or “my neighbor’s black” or my favorite: “Slave days are over!”.

It’s the comments like, “it’s because you’re black”, or “you’re such a Jew”, or even “white-boy” that are allowed out of our mouths because we staunchly tell ourselves we aren’t racists. We’ve never called anyone a cracker, or spic, or nigger! : O

And we aren’t racists. Not in this sense of the word:

I really hope this isn’t the thumbnail that shows up

when I post on Facebook…

But what we say IS sometimes racist. I myself have made relatively harmless comments based on the stereotypes of races in the past. And sometimes it is indeed harmless. But I would be remiss if I didn’t recognize the danger of allowing myself to say negative things about an individual based on the color of their skin. Even if they aren’t offended or the joke is particularly hilarious

Hahaha, White guys really can’t dance! Classic!

it can be a slippery slope until a joke goes from uproarious to…”oh, oops, that was a little too far and now when they make an inappropriate comment about me I have to take it instead of revealing the injustice because I started it and now I’m gonna make another ugly comment cuz I’m hurt…”

Now I’m definitely not saying we need to be Post-Racial and avoid all commentary about races. And I’m most definitely not asking for us to walk on egg shells being filled with guilt or paranoia around men and women who look different than ourselves. That can be as condescending and ignorant as a blatant racial slur.

All I’m saying in this post…this long LONG post (sorry about that)… is that maybe it wouldn’t be a bad idea to just be a little more self aware and accept the fact that while we are NOT necessarily racists, we DO every once in awhile say racist things that have a seed of prejudice, that can potentially make us forget that we’re all from the same family. Some of us just have a bit more melanin than others.

The real racists know they’re racist. I’m not sure I know what to do about them. And the methods I may suggest would probably be inappropriate to post here. But for those of us that do our best to work against injustice and immoralities like racism on a day to day basis through our daily lifestyles, it shouldn’t be too hard to refrain from making yet another obvious racial observation…

I mean…uh…do your best…

Be Righteous,

~ G.S.R.V

Postscript: I have a new song I’ll be posting soon! Be on the lookout!

4 responses

  1. You have a dark skinned girlfriend? On a scale from 1 to 10, how dark? On the same scale, from 1 to 10, how light are you?

    On that scale, I’m about a 4 (in the summer) and my wife is a 1.3 year round, which means I have a light skinned wife I suppose. That reminds me, when she burns red, where does that fit on the scale?

    Not fond of the X-man regardless of where he falls on the scale. Didn’t read his book, but what I see of his popular-published life (that which the media typically portrays him and you give honorable mention), he was a violent false teacher–but that’s more a religious twistings kinda thing.

    Having said that, I am a racist-in-recovery…it’s how I was raised. Not making excuses, I’m just sayin.

    By the grace of God, I’m better now. Or am I…

    If I was walking down the street and I came to a fork in the road and saw down the left side 5 dark-fellows and on the right side 5 light-fellows (assuming everything else was the same), I’d probably opt for the right side.

    Am I still a racist or am I merely leaning towards a personal comfort zone. I do know where the answer lies…

    “The heart is deceitful above all things, And desperately wicked; Who can know it? I, the Lord, search the heart, I test the mind, Even to give every man according to his ways, According to the fruit of his doings…” Jeremiah 17:9-10

    And there ya go.

    May 16, 2011 at 4:29 PM

    • I’d say she’s about a 7.5 while I’m anywhere from a 2.5 to a 5 in the summer. Dea (my gf) and I have always maintained that she’s the brown crayon in the box. I think I’d be “peach” if we’re using crayola.

      As for Malcolm X, even when he was in favor of complete segregation and separateness for African Americans, it doesn’t seem that he was ever encouraging black on white violence except in self defense. At one time he stated that he would encourage white folk to defend themselves if they were attacked in the same manner that many black Americans had been at the time. To my knowledge he never led a violent riot, in fact he even stopped a few. And after his trip to Mecca and his conversion to orthodox Islam he moved away from his vitriolic view of white people which was based on a lifetime of subjugation.

      I’m obviously not supporting the preaching of Islam as a solution for life but his aversion to Christianity makes a lot of sense in a society where Elijah Muhummad and other Nation of Islam members were more familiar with their Bible and the teachings of Jesus than those who claimed to be followers of the Messiah. I’d like to think that had he lived longer, he would’ve come in contact with more sincere Christians equipped with the Holy Spirit.

      In reference to the fork in the road…one thing I’ll say is that while I have no qualms about walking around Harlem or Bushwick on my own, I am more careful when Dea is with me. The opinion that she dates me for my money is a pretty common proclamation in those situations. This seems to be a gender issue in addition to a racial issue though cuz I have black guy friends who have dated white girls and gotten similar negative responses from groups of white males.

      Thanks for the comment, always appreciate your frankness sir dave…

      May 17, 2011 at 1:31 AM

  2. I’d date you for the money.

    May 20, 2011 at 7:51 AM

  3. Pingback: Mrs. Parks and the Distraction Machine « Stichomythia

Leave a Reply

