A deeper insight into the pottering of Mr. George, Mr. Scholes, and Mr. Robson.

Reading of Dostoevsky’s “The Gambler” and Begging For Limericks

 

I’m gonna go out of order and discuss the “Begging for Limericks” first…

It’s been quite a month. The last week in particular has been intensely hectic as I’ve had about 3 days to design sound for a production of John Gay’s The Beggar’s Opera. After 19 hours of strictly technical rehearsal I quickly came to the conclusion that the sooner this play, which inspired Bertolt Brecht’s Threepenny Opera is over, the better.  For one thing I need to start composing for a production of Shakespeare’s The Tempest going up in April.

I’m looking forward to getting back to the studio (which many times consists of piles of studio equipment laying around whatever my current habitation may be).  I have three songs which stick in my mind to get out onto some recorded form.

1) A punkish piano driven tune of wordplay

2) A r&b influenced love song

3) A medieval meets hip hop tune about MLK

I hope to be able to exhibit some of these tunes in some form in the near future.

As to the reading…My adaptation of Dostoevsky’s The Gambler is going to be featured in staged reading next Saturday Feb. 26th. Keeping in the rapid pace of the month of Febrero I’m finishing casting the reading today and rehearsing this week to prepare for next Sat. It should be exciting to hear the text read aloud for the first time. I’m hoping it will give me an idea as to if the play requires extensive change before I attempt to direct it in the Fall.

I’m sure I’m forgetting quite a bit that has occurred since the last time I blogged…”The Sugar Bar” for instance is something that should be discussed. I won’t go into it at length but if anyone happens to be in NYC on a Thursday night I recommend checking it out. Some intense vocal chops goin on there.

In any case I’ll be in touch.

Be Righteous,

~ G.S.R.V

Leave a Reply

