A deeper insight into the pottering of Mr. George, Mr. Scholes, and Mr. Robson.

Winter wRiting, Recording, and Recess (i’m a sucker for alliteration)

Although this winter break has been more relaxing than ones past, I realize that it wouldn’t matter whether break was a month or 3 months. I always have more to work on. This was my to do list at the beginning of my time off from school:

1) Finish an adaptation of Dosteovsky’s The Gambler

2) Compose and record the score for The Gambler

3) Record at least 3 songs for my next album

So far (as anticipated) I’ve only finished one of the things on the list.

I’ve finally adapted The Gambler for a stage production which has been a very exciting process for me. I’m hoping to direct it at some point this year, most likely this fall (will keep you updated throughout).

I’m in the studio all this week to see if I can at least knock out a few songs for the next album before I head back to the city. I also just found out that I’ll be composing the soundtrack for a film directed by my friend Brittany Neff over the next few months which is always fun and seems to bring out a lot of good material.

Aside from work, I’ve been able to spend a nice amount of time with family and girlfriend, buzz off my longer than shoulderlength hair, and sport a mustache that makes me look like a cross between Groucho Marx and Freddie Mercury. So all in all, I call it a success.

Alright, well I’m off hoping to finish some tunes by the end of the week. Wish me luck!

Be righteous,

~ G.S.R.V

2 responses

  1. Dea

    Your mustache also encompasses a bit of Luigi 😉

    Congrats on the work that you have gotten done. And don’t worry. We’re only 11 days into the new year and you’ve already finished adapting a play. That’s a feat in itself.

    Keep it up love. I’m so proud of you

    Te amo

    January 11, 2011 at 3:34 PM

  2. For some reason I’m picturing Jerry and George sitting around the apartment trying to write the script for the ‘Jerry’ pilot — except that’s it’s just George.

    January 11, 2011 at 4:45 PM

Leave a Reply

