A deeper insight into the pottering of Mr. George, Mr. Scholes, and Mr. Robson.

Wanna Hear A Story? It’s got pictures in it.

Ok well it’s not really a story, but then, did you really wanna here a story? Yes? Ok well I’ll work on that for my next entry…

This was quite a busy week. I was playing catch up due to a spell of Gastroenteritis which laid me up about 2 days the week prior. But as a result I’ve felt quite productive which is nice:

I’ve finally gotten a chance to work on Twelfth Night and  Henry IV Pt 1 for class. It’s been my first real taste of performing Shakespeare since my first year at school so it’s been a most refreshing experience. What was particularly intriguing was how portions of the text almost refused to reveal their meaning unless spoken aloud. That statement probably reveals both a naivety to those of the “Shakespearean Elite” and a sense of pretension to those who could care less. Still it surprised me so I thought I’d share. So there’s that.

I’ll be competing for a prize of $1000 dollars at Pace University’s Amateur Night on Nov 11th which is always exciting. I think I’ll be performing Yetzer Hara from “Manifestation”.

I’ve also recently been informed that “Job Interview”, a short play I wrote last year, is going to be performed at the Fall 2010 Directors Fest at Pace as well. This will be the first time I’ve seen my work performed under someone else’s direction and I’m interested to see how it comes out.

Speaking of writing, I’ve just begun a new writing project which I hope to have done by the end of the year. If you see me around and are curious how it’s going feel free to inquire about it.

Let’s see what have I forgotten…Oh yea the photos. I’ve been taking various pictures over the last few weeks and decided to dump some of them into cyberspace…so here is my Mache nan Manhattan:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

…that asian couple is my new desktop.

Be righteous,

~ G.S.R.V

4 responses

  1. GR: What was particularly intriguing was how portions of the text almost refused to reveal their meaning unless spoken aloud.”

    DW: I’ve found that to be true with the KJV Bible as well, although God was by no-stretch-of-the-imagination Shakespeare.

    Sorry you’re living in another country now; I would like to see some of this stuff you’re doing.

    November 1, 2010 at 2:58 PM

    • It’s interesting you mention that Dave cuz one of the projects I’ve wanted to do and plan to do at some point in the near future is the performance of portions of the KJV as if it was Shakespeare.

      Yeah, the distance does pose difficulty with live performances which is partially the reason I started the blog and try to document as much as possible and distribute via youtube.

      As you may have noticed by my “like”s I’ve really been very nourished by some of the topics and posts you’ve had on FB and your blog lately, so thanks.

      ~ G.S.R.V

      November 1, 2010 at 6:19 PM

      • I’m trying to figure out how to receive your blog automatically (I thought I signed up for an email notification, bit that doesn’t seem to work). I do online Bible study with Jon Courson and when he reads KJV it just pops (and it’s not because he’s a gifted orator–far from it actually). Anyway thanx for the kind word. Feel free to post your link here any time (until I figure out to get it) and I’ll boost it for you. God bless bro.

        November 2, 2010 at 11:57 AM

  2. Oh yeah, forgot…go to your WP account and add some widgets and stuff that allow people to repost yer stuff to twitter, FB, etc. There’s a whole bunch of stuff you can add. I just used ‘stuff’ 3 times (now 4).

    November 2, 2010 at 12:02 PM

Leave a Reply

